Heya, Monster.

A SoberBlog by a TallWoman.

In With the New.

Hello, friends.*

It’s been a while …. Since I’ve stopped in. …. Since I’ve read some awesome SoberBlogs. ….. Since I’ve counted my days. …..

It’s been a fun swell of activity at school the past few weeks. My partner and I opened our first official show as the New Theatre Department. It was a middle school show, which was lots of fun. Very playful. I was glad to get one under our belt. I was also glad it was not my show officially, because it let me watch her journey at this new school, while supporting her with lots of tech help. I was engaged (highly), but not in charge. It seemed like just the right combination for learning while doing – my favorite way to do things. *smile* (Note: My husband often notes I am a bull in a china shop, which is true literally in the physical world, but also true on a figurative level as well. Let me at ’em! (“’em” being anything and anyone.))

Once the middle school show closed, I jumped into running my two shows simultaneously. Out of the frying pan and into the fire, I suppose. One show opens in January, so we are getting a handle on deadlines, design, and overall responsibilities for everyone involved (me, our awesome Technical Director, and 23 kick-ass high schoolers), while the second show (Big. Musical.) just auditioned this week, and will get underway in February. I feel like the auditions this week have really cemented my feeling like this place is really and truly my new home. There was something about the way the kids’ energy built and built over the week. And yes, they were much more responsive to me during the week – smiling at me in the hallways, laughing at my stupid jokes, and just perking up when I would walk by them – which I realize is all because I was holding their sweet thespian fates in my hands…. But in all of that energy to please me, I don’t know. It made the transition from last year’s teachers to me and my partner more Real for everyone involved, I think. It felt like there was a shift in the kids’ attitudes and understanding of the huge changes that have taken place in their theatre department (3 faculty left last Spring and 3 new faculty arrived this Fall (Talk about Drama!)). They seemed to accept me more completely than before, which feels so good. I think they’re starting to trust me, because we’ve been through things together now. And yes, of course there will be bumps in the road for all of us – we all hold onto our want for ‘What Was,’ but it feels like we’re moving forward and creating the New Normal together, and that feels So Good.

In other, more superficial news, I have a hair appointment today. Wah-Friggin’-Hoo! I am so looking forward to a change. Well, perhaps a minor change (a little more platinum?), OR a major change (bluuuuuuuue, anyone?!). I cannot wait.

On the house front, we are in a Waiting Mode. Projects are getting done by a really good contractor, which makes me soso happy. And then, perhaps in February, we will be at the front of the selling season, and have a little bit more luck in finding a great fit, as well as selling our little bungalow. ….. Of course, in the meantime, we are going to meet with a financial planner to talk about possibly figuring out how to push-out the house we have so that it becomes the house we want – through and through. I’m okay with considering both options at the moment, because the more we do, the more I like what we have. The issues are space and practicality, which could each be solved with a move OR major renovations. All exciting. All possible.

In sober news, I find a lot of strength this holiday season from just knowing how much better my life is without the Drink. At night, I still marvel that I have 1. So much time; 2. An awake brain; 3. Real connections with my babes and the hubs; 4. Energy; 5. No need to soften or blur my Reality. I like what I have. I like what I think and what I feel. Life doesn’t hurt as much as it did when I was drinking. There are tears and challenges, anger and fears, but it is all exactly what it is. Life’s negatives are not heightened or multiplied by feeling ashamed of myself, nor exacerbated by the time drinking took away from me. I have broken down the million-foot-high hurdles I built up for myself. I enjoy my Life for what it is. I no longer wish it was Something Else, nor that it looked like Someone Else’s. I like my Life, thank you (sincerely and whole-heartedly).

Day 543, Awake, Alive, & Grateful.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “In With the New.

  1. Thank you for a lovely post. It really helps to read posts from more stablished bloggers, way further along in the sobriety journey enjoying Christmas and the party season sober.
    Go blue with the hair come on, I dare ya!

    Like

  2. That so all just awesome.
    Liking your life,…what more could one want?!?!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear HM,
    Wonderful to hear from you and wonderful to read how you are enjoying your life. 🙂
    xx, Feeling

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love, love, love!!
    And we have pretty snow, now!!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Aw, thanks, HFC.* (Cute name, p.s.) The hair ended up really cute, although not light enough for blue yet. Maybe one more lift, then I am thinking blue denim in May. Whee! *smile* … Happy to ‘meet’ you.* -HM.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Right? What took me so long? *smile*

    Like

  7. Thank you, dear Feeling.* How are you? I’ve been away so long! Miss you. -HM.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Don’t forget the cold. Brrr! *smile*

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Amazing! Nice to ‘meet’ you too! x

    Like

  10. Yes! I miss you too. And you have been away very long! But it does not sound like you are straying off the path so hurray for you! 🙂 I am very happy for you that sobriety is becoming you so well. 🙂
    xx, Feeling

    Like

  11. Robert Crisp on said:

    Good to hear from you and glad to hear things are going so well. I’ve been in survival mode at school, but our break starts next Wednesday, so I’m slowly emerging. Still sober, too. Take that, alcohol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

