Heya, Monster.

A SoberBlog by a TallWoman.

3… 2… 1…

“Perhaps all the dragons in our lives are princesses who are only waiting to see us act, just once, with beauty and courage. Perhaps everything that frightens us is, in its deepest essence, something helpless that wants our love.”
     -Rainer Maria Rilke, Letters to a Young Poet

The-Princess-and-the-dragon1

Here I sit in the midst of my countdowns (plural)…. The school year has ended. Grades have been reported. Grad parties have been attended. My own goodbye party has happened, where it seemed an infinite number of hugs and ‘See you soon’s and ‘Keep in touch’es were said by all. In the job world, I have one sliver of a string keeping me tethered to the Old, while a second silver string is dangling in the near future – complete with transition meeting set next week, and then off to the races with planning, learning, deciding, more planning, scrapping, then planning s’more… *smile*

It’s been good. Gooder than I thought it would be. (Please know that grammatical error was a conscious choice.) The major hurdle had been this past Thursday with the end of the year luncheon, and once that was over, everything else kind of followed in a logical sequence.

So, now I here I am contemplating my big 1 year-aversary set for Thursday, 9 June, 2016. I am actually getting kind of excited for it. Today, in silly Monster-fashion, I contemplated the idea of ‘One. Year.’ and what all that meant. I mean, of course I know it’s a year, but for some reason, today I felt like I could suddenly look back and see and understand what that huge concept represented – all of its ins and outs. Daunting in its magnitude. And proud-making in its scope. And shiver-shaking in its many, many effects.

As each day goes by this week, I am trying to raise my courage levels so that I am ready for my big dive into skin art. I am determined to get a tattoo (moon & a star) on my left wrist, but now that I have discovered the beautiful Rilke quote above, I am getting all cocky and thinking…. ‘Aw, I could totally do a moon and a star AND a Dragon.’ …. Someone talk me off my ledge. *smile*

Day 363, I will keep you posted, cool cats & kitties…..

moon_dragon_by_alviaalcedo-d8x6m8j

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “3… 2… 1…

  1. OK, why does everyone’s coloring look better than mine??

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Haha! I stole the image. Totally not mine. No competition here, sweetheart. *smile* p.s. Your anniversary is soon, too, yes? Do you have anything planned for the big celebration of YOU?

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Ok good!! But you do have a coloring book?? It was last week, June 1.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. mishedup on said:

    so excited for you, and I love that Rilke quote…and tattoos!
    Go for it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Robert Crisp on said:

    As a proud wearer of a dragon image, I say do it. Go all the way. Many people told me getting tattoos is addictive (I’ve held back saying, “I understand addiction. Ink is not one of mine) but I suspected and continue to suspect mine all I’ll get, so I’m glad I went with my heart and the dragon.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wah! I missed it. Happy belated soverversary!!! *tickertapeparade*

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hee. Thanks, Mished.* We shall see what happens…. *smile*

    Like

  8. So you’re telling me to jump, huh? *smile*

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wheeeee! Monsta! Very much congrats on your day 363. Time flies when you are having fun! 🙂
    Glad to read that you survived/lived well through all the goodbyes and end of year thingies. Been thinking of you. 🙂
    On to a new beginning! New job, year 2. You are doing so well. 🙂
    xx, Feeling

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Robert Crisp on said:

    Oh, yeah. Jump!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh how festive! Thanks:)

    Liked by 1 person

  12. YES!
    DO IT!!
    It’s really cool!!!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Thank you, Feeling! (I’m a little late getting back here.)

    Liked by 1 person

  14. You, sir, are biased.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. We’ll see….. *smile*

    Like

  16. Robert Crisp on said:

    True.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

