Heya, Monster.

A SoberBlog by a TallWoman.

Heya, Hope.

Morning Sunrise Photo Depicts actual Cloud with Silver Lining

Good morning.* Some big things have happened in the past month – so big, I can’t even really believe it all fit inside the time of 35 days.

So, on April 1st, I found out my teaching contract would not be renewed next year. (I’m sorry I keep repeating this fact.)

But then? Even inside all of my sadness and grief and loss, I got shit done. References, resumes, cover letters, job hunts, applications …. Which led to …

Hope

A job interview! …. Even better? …. For a theatre teaching position! A full-time, department lead, theatre position. It was like finding a unicorn. Seriously.

1st interview led to a second, all-day interview extravaganza about a week later. Discovered the school is Happy. Very open. Liberal. Kind. …. I found myself getting hopeful, but also trying to stay pragmatic – I kept generating applications and getting them out so that I wouldn’t lose momentum.

Had to wait a looooooooong week as there was a second candidate going through the same process as I had – teaching 2 classes, meeting with a student panel, HR, current teachers, and then another interview at the end of the crazy day. I decided I just wanted it to be a good fight, because what could be better than that?

So, that week went by, and I got the call offering me the position. The principal was SO kind and supportive and enthusiastic. I accepted (of course!), signed my contract yesterday, and now? The future waits just around the corner. Yow!

dnews-files-2015-11-miracle-plant-670-jpg

Throw in all the sadness and anger and frustration, doing my regular teaching job, as well as opening and closing a show, auditioning for a second, and prepping for a third, oh, and my family and personal time, some consistent retail therapy, new hair-do, lots and lots of hours spent listening to lots and lots of great music, and to top it off, coffee – lots of it, and then, after all that, you pretty much get the gist of my month. *smile* (I can smile now.)

Oh, and?!

I hit 11 months on May 9th! (I am officially shopping for final tattoo designs and artists for my year-a-versary.)

wpid-img_1023521694160

So. Much. Happening.

Day 340, How did that happen?! Holy shite.

hope-life-quote-Favim.com-318401

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

24 thoughts on “Heya, Hope.

  1. Wonderful! I love that such lovely things are happening in your life. Almost to the one-year mark. Well done!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Congratulations! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! Congratulations! I am VERY HAPPY for you! 🙂 ❤ Wow! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy unicorn providing serendipities!! And just round the corner is one year sober 🙂 So much to celebrate ❤ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey Lady! This is outstanding news and I am super happy for you!! You deserve this!! I’ll be celebrating my year with you next month:)

    Liked by 2 people

  6. This post has cheered me up massively 🙂 I’m so happy to hear you navigated your way through a crappy time so well – congratulations on the new job xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Robert Crisp on said:

    What great news! It gives me hope, too, since I’ve been interviewing and going to job fairs lately. I’m leaving my four-year college job to go back to public (for various reasons). I interviewed with a school in another county about 45 mins from home, and I have a really good feeling about it. I hope to get an offer Monday. Send out the good vibes, lady.

    Liked by 3 people

  8. YAY!!
    I am HAPPY!!!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love this. Fantastic. BTW, I had a fantastic, cool, supportive, wonderful theatre teacher when I was in high school. And while I didn’t pursue theatre in college or thereafter, she was a great influence in my life and education. I imagine you are going to be just such an influence for your new students. Huzzah!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wow! Well done on keeping strong when losing your contract and taking such positive steps towards finding your new lovely role. You did that, be proud xx

    Like

  11. Ohoh, thank you so much, Ella!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Thank you!

    Like

  13. Thank you, my friend! *smile*

    Like

  14. Heehee. Yes! Wa-hoo!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Aw, thank you, Betty! Let’s plan all the cake we’ll be eating soon… *smile*

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Thank you so much, Rosie.*

    Like

  17. Yow, sending you tons of good vibes, too. Let us know what happens with this last round of interviewing! And thank you, sir.*

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Haha. Thank you, dear Wendy!

    Like

  19. Oh, my gosh, thank you so much.* And I love that you still think of your teacher so fondly – it says so much about your experience and her impact on you. So awesome.

    Like

  20. Mmm…cake… yes, for sure! And let’s also throw a ton of virtual confetti (it’s much easier to clean up).

    Like

  21. Robert Crisp on said:

    So far, nothing…but I’m hoping that’ll change this week.

    Like

  22. Any news a bit later, Robert?

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Robert Crisp on said:

    Nothing yet. I went to another interview yesterday, but I don’t think it’s a good fit. Maybe I’ll hear something this week. Thanks for asking. I hope you’re well.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Interviews are good. But also good to be practical in terms of the right fit for You. Still thinking of you and sending good thoughts your way.*

    Like

Leave a Reply

