Heya, Monster.

A SoberBlog by a TallWoman.

Monster in the Middle.

I’m finding myself in the middle of an odd juxtaposition – geographically, as well as in my head – intellectually and emotionally.

First, picture me snug in the middle of the US., right…..

14500632-London-UK-13-June-2012-St-Paul-Minnesota-marked-with-red-pushpin-on-the-United-States-map--Stock-Photo

Here.

Which is right in the middle of this state…

357b1a72874c537efa17bd55b13e1d27

Here.

Which is right in the middle of this country….

usa1

Here.

So truly, the Absolute Middle.

And my mind? My mind is ….

6a00d8341bf8f353ef016765914ec3970b-800wi-710x417

Here.

In LA, because that is where my current production takes place. It is set during the Uprising in 1992, and I am finding inspiration and sadness in the material, because the situation and circumstances are ringing louder and louder down through the past 20 years to NOW. My students are brilliant, insightful, and amazing. But my heart hurts most days due to the Truth we are addressing and continuing to uncover.

The other part of my mind is….

nyc-from-life-as-it-should-be-tumblr

Here.

Because in only two weeks, I am taking a group of students to this beautiful city in order to see show after show (hopefully). I have been swimming through logistics and planning and managing details (not my favorite things). While at the same time, I am getting more and more excited to be there, to explore, to be with dear friends (one being the Dearest), and to see shows that will take my breath away.

Good things, but feeling a bit overwhelmed by it all.

Still sober. Still going. Still happy to be sober.

Day 213, ollie ollie oxen free!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Monster in the Middle.

  1. mishedup on said:

    I have been in your part of the country often….last June my most recent trip.
    and I am so jealous of the NYC trip..show after show? I’m gonna need to hear about that.
    and yeah..I live, and have always lived, in L.A. It was hard. And the fact that it still IS so hard, and keeps happening, is frustrating as hell. I’m glad you’re teaching it though, and the parallels, because supposedly that’s the way we learn.
    Except when we don’t.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. How cool you get to take kids on a trip!
    The kids must be super excited!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you, MU.*

    Like

  4. We all are. *smile* We’re getting so close to the actual day! I’m excited to see some breathtaking theatre and just explore…

    Like

Leave a Reply

