Heya, Monster.

A SoberBlog by a TallWoman.

A Crabby Turkey.

That’s been me today. I just can’t seem to get to zero. I think I was a little off because the house wasn’t quite presentable when we woke-up, and we were expecting my parents to be with us all day today. Plus, an up and down night with the girl – nightmares, and no exercising for two days (kind of nice, but kind of not), and I am a bit of a crabby bird.

c9d0aae2db1fe768eaf5de3a283e4970

So, now, after a little quiet time, I am feeling much more relaxed. The six of us will all pile into the car in about twenty minutes and head to my in-laws for a scrumptious meal, conversation, and goodness. *lesigh* That is just what the doctor ordered, I think. … And who really cares about the house anyway? My parents have known me all my life. A few piles won’t make or break a visit. Oh, Hindsight, where were you when I needed you? … Oh, yeah. Waiting to arrive …. Later. (Dammit.)

I know today is a day full of gratefulness, and I truly am that. Thankful to have my parents here with us, grateful to know my sister is in the midst of yet another adventure in Melbourne (hi*), and happy to have a family around me who is full of love and kindness. I am a very, very lucky monster indeed.

And though I consider myself more spiritual than a specific denomination, I am finding myself up against those words ‘prayer’ and ‘praying’ a lot lately. And really? I think the words are right and accurate, because the essence of my hopes are healing and safe-guarding those in my prayers. … I’m branching out, people. …. And my prayer for today is one of safety and love and healing and hope for our world. The spirit in me recognizes the spirit in you.

Light Through the Clouds

And for anyone who would like to partake in one of my favorite family recipes…. I give you: Broccoli Salad. Here is a recipe, but whenever my mom or I makes it, we just eyeball it. More of the good stuff (grapes, raisins, sunflower seeds, and bacon) is always a good idea. Oh, and use the broccoli stalks! They taste really good soaked in the dressing on day 2.

Ingredients

Directions

  • Prep 15 m

  • Cook 15 m

  • Ready In 30 m

  1. Place bacon in a deep skillet and cook over medium high heat until evenly brown. Cool and crumble.
  2. Cut the broccoli into bite-size pieces and cut the onion into thin bite-size slices. Combine with the bacon, raisins, your favorite nuts and mix well.
  3. To prepare the dressing, mix the mayonnaise, sugar and vinegar together until smooth. Stir into the salad, let chill and serve.

Broccoli Salad

Day 170, I am grateful for You.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “A Crabby Turkey.

  1. Ooooh thanks HM! I need a new salad recipe. Happy thanksgiving to you – enjoy the time spent with family x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmmm sounds gorgeous, broccoli is the nee supa food so even better. Hope you all had a lovely day and meal ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love broccoli salad. Mmmmm

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Preparing for company, cooking etc makes me a bit crabby too..mostly because I didn’t get my exercise in….how selfish of me!! I am so thankful to be sober today!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It is so delisch, Millie. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ha. I know what you mean though. I’ve been in a pretty good habit lately (and have probably just jinxed myself), so even one day off exercising, and I feel myself getting prickly and owly fast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

