Heya, Monster.

A SoberBlog by a TallWoman.

15 Miles to the Looooooooove Shack!

 

And a funky little shack it is. Full of all kinds of knick-knacks and doo-dads, and some old smelly piles of who-knows-what? Isn’t Sobriety wonderful? *smile*

It’s only been a month since my life screeched to a halt, and I am really surprised by where I am now. First, my Daddio is recovering well. I’m looking forward to spending time with him and my mom over Thanksgiving. Then, my slight med boost (Monster #2 = Bipolar) has really smoothed out my anxiety, mood-swings, and tension. I take my meds before bed, so in the mornings on my drive to work, it feels like the meds start swimming through my brain in order to prepare me for a calm, even-keeled day (mostly – I am a high school teacher after all). Time with the hubs and with the babes seems more centered and more connected. And? Most surprising news of all for me is I am turning into a runner!

This week, I set myself the goal of running 15 miles (approx 2-3.5 miles per run), and? Mission accomplished! 15.75 miles to be exact. I am feeling good. Strong. More confident. A little bonier (which is nice). The hubs and I (again, mostly) changed our diets a few weeks ago so that we would be eating more Real food – fish, chicken, rice, lots of veggies, etc. I’m finding I am feeling less snacky, more full, and just more nourished – if that is actually a feeling a person can have. And? Bonus: I think it is helping me lose some more of my marshmallow fluff. Oh, and I hadn’t considered it until I began to write, but the food change has possibly contributed to the mood shift and overall feeling of contentment as well. Hoo-rah.

Oh, and the other connection to ’15’ is that I am 15 days away from KOing my next sobriety goal of 180 days. As I was telling Riding on Empty the other day, I will have to trick myself to keep going with sobriety by setting the next 180-day challenge as soon as the first one is up. It’s kind of nice, though, because I think I m going to do a short-term goal of hitting the Winter Solstice first, and then creating a natural goal of getting to the Summer Solstice after that. A short-term goal after these big-number hills will be a nice change of pace, especially around the holidays. Then, it’s off to the races again!

Day 165, Knock a little louder, Sugar.

 

Single Post Navigation

27 thoughts on “15 Miles to the Looooooooove Shack!

  1. Crushing it! I love that you are running -15 miles yow! I need to get back into it. I’ve been missing exercise and you lately. Mwah!*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. doing a little jig to your music as I type! all good news in this post. I’m a big fan of overlapping the challenges, that’s worked really well for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We have crap-nutrition cycles! You can get a junk food hangover no problem, so I’d agree better food is contributing to your overall feeling of awesomeness right now. Your fitness routine is outstanding! I’m having a hard time getting to gym with work kicking my butt and the weather (and oh please insert 10 MORE EXCUSES HERE) so I am being inspired by you now to get moving:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Robert Crisp on said:

    Tiiiiiin roof! Rusted!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. riding on empty on said:

    Did you know that carb-laden crap food can increase the desire for booze? Booze is nothing but carbs and carbs beget carbs. Eating healthier and exercising do the opposite – they will reduce the booze-want significantly. And 15 miles! That’s bad ass! I hate running, mostly because I can’t do it, so I admire people who do and stick with it! Run, girl, run!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 15 miles AND 165 days? (166 now) Amazing! I love the idea of setting goals like 180 days. At first I was worried my brain would think: OK, did that, now I can drink again! But adding new goals on is a great idea. I was thinking when I make it to 100 days I will check out getting a tattoo. I don’t have any tattoos now and it seems like what better thing to celebrate with ink than taking my life back? Maybe it should be 180 days… 😉 Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So amazing to see you kicking butt HM!!! you’re doing it! I mean, you’re really doing it! *smiles proudly*

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Untipsyteacher on said:

    You are doing great!
    I can’t run, so I admire people who can!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Haha. Yeah…. I’m working on it. So’s you know, your my almost-daily inspiration, so lie to me and tell me it’s easy/awesome/everybody’s doing it – whatever it takes. *smile*

    Like

  10. Haha. Glad you liked the music. It got stuck in my head for the entire day after I wrote that post. *smile* And glad to know overlapping goals works – I had only just thought of the short-term idea as I was writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Haha. Thank you! It’s been a really big high and a really low low (the exercise routine) with a few setbacks throughout the fall. Feeling good now, though. Come and join me! I’d love to have an exercise buddy.*

    Liked by 1 person

  12. p.s. I ate crap-food all through the weekend after tooting my own horn. *smile* Ha. Hello, Karma.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ha! That’s what I was going to write for my closing, but I doubted the choice. I shouldn’t have. Classic!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. That is good to hear re. the carbs thing. I think of it specifically for sugars, but I don’t always think of daily carbs as being the same as sugars. Good reminder. And yeah, after I wrote that post, I mowed down on any and everything I wanted. So much for the clean living motif I penned. What a lie! *smile* Getting back on the horse today though. … And thanks for the cheers. I need it. 15 miles was the most I’ve ever done in a week. I think it’s cool that you trek all over the mountains. Maybe we could swap lives for a week and try the other’s life on for size. Could be cool. ‘SoberSwap’ or ‘Addicted to Reality’…. Hm. Something like that. I’ll keep brainstorming. *smile*

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I got the goal-setting motivation from Belle (http://tiredofthinkingaboutdrinking.com/ ) …. I started with the 100-day, and then committed to the Solstice-to-Solstice/180-day goal. And yes, I definitely have to layer my goals. At the beginning, it was honestly just stacking one day on top of the other, until I finally reached a week, and then a month, etc. The goals help keep me thinking into the future, even if I fantasize about having a drink, I have my goal to keep me going. … As for the tattoo, awesome! I want to see pictures/ideas. My goal is 1 year, and then I am going to celebrate with some inky wonderfulness.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Aww… p.s. I am an addict of Masterchef Australia, and I keep thinking of you and Little Ms. Jones all the time when they show promo shots of a city or neighborhood. I always wonder, ‘Have you been there? Do you know that place?’ etc. *smile*

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Oh, thank you, Wendy! It’s been a learning process, definitely.

    Like

  18. But you’ll make me run:( I try not to run unless a clearance sale is involved. hahah!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I’m hitting a box of dark chocolate covered cherries as I type! I’m sick so I figure I got it coming;)

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Haha. Well, yes. I probably would. *smile*

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Oh, YUM. I am jealous of the treats (not of the sick). Feel better!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Thankya, I’m on the tail end of her. Been taking zicam and vitamins and echinacea. Those stupid cherries are seasonal now, in ALL STORES and I grab a box whenever I see them. hahah! There’s only 10 cherries in a box (so that’s my exuse..derrhhhh).

    Like

  23. I hate to disappoint you but I don’t watch it- sorry!! I’m all cooking comped out! but it is filmed in my hometown, it’s actually filmed in an old poultry pavilion building that’s normally used used for competitions at the Royal Melbourne Show. The main judges are all Melbourne based that’s all I know….

    Like

  24. This is awesome. My first goal is 10 days (tomorrow!). Then 14 (2 weeks!), then 21, then 30. Then 60? Then 90? Then 100!
    And I love the idea of solstice to solstice. I’ll figure out how to get on track for that.

    And I like the year tat idea better, I think. Plus that gives me time to really plan…

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Robert Crisp on said:

    My kids love that song. Hearing it takes me back to my college days and good memories. Hope you’re well.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Your sober plan sounds exactly like mine. Identical even. …. As for Belle, you’ll need to write her and get on her waiting list. Your sober days waiting to connect will count, but I thin it took awhile to get on her official list.

    Like

  27. Hello! You’re doing brilliantly. Love Annie x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

