Heya, Monster.

A SoberBlog by a TallWoman.

Si, Si, Senora!

It’s been a good week.

A stress-filled week.

But a good week.

I got rolling pretty quickly downhill on Monday into a stressball, as we say in our house. So? After a day of running around, teaching, organizing, designing a brochure, prepping the set design for the next show, as well as prepping for auditions, I was Done.

And do you know? A cool thing happened….

I did not have the urge to drink. (Wa-hoo!)

Nope.

I had the urge to scream and cry a little,

I ran - like the wind!

so instead of actually doing either of those things….

I ran.

Like the wind.

Seriously. I ran So fast on Monday. Usually I hover around 6 mph doing intervals, and Monday, I cranked up the treadmill to 6.5 mph for almost all of the intervals, and then even hit 7 mph for the last one. Man, did it feel good! And such a healthier way to deal with stress than drinking it away.

Then, the rest of the week went by in a bit of a blur. Classes, auditions, show stuff, cramming in time to run 4 out of 5 days…. But it was good. By Friday, I was ready for the weekend! The cast and crew lists were posted, and it was time to par-tay! And by ‘par-tay,’ I mean go home to the babes, drink a bunch of glasses of iced tea, enjoy dinner with my fam, and then read sober blogs and Mindy Kaling’s first book before I fell asleep. Party on, Wayne.

It’s been a good weekend.

Yesterday, I had time with my girlfriends for our brunch & book club. We sooooort of screen-shot-2013-02-01-at-1-46-09-pmdiscussed Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane, which as my girlfriend says, “Breaks your heart twice in the first chapter.” SO incredible and well-written. I’m a huge Gaiman fan – HUGE – and have personally decided this is the book he has been trying to write for his whole writing career. It is beautiful and poetic and core-shakingly brilliant. Truly stunning. … And the time we spent discussing it? Oh, about 10 minutes. *smile* The rest of the time was spent on some much-needed catching up. Wonderful!

Then, last night, the hubs and I were Clark-Gable-Peter-Warne-It-Happened-One-Night able to enjoy a bit of a date-night as our babes fell asleep pretty quickly. I was in the mood for a romantic comedy (because Mindy Kaling mentions the genre more than once in her book that I had been reading – Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (And Other Concerns). As I was picking through our collection, it was (re)discovered that the hubs had never seen the classic, hilarious, and wonderful movie It Happened One Night, starring Claudette Colbert and Clark Gable, directed by Frank Capra, and written by Robert Riskin. Oh, my goodness! I forgot how much I love this movie! So funny, and so sweet. I mean, look at this still from the movie – that look! Doesn’t it make you melt? And the love-ily thing is that Colbert has more than one moment of that sweet look as well. Gah. Love it.

So now, today, in about thirty minutes, imgresthe hubs and I are headed to another date out. Wow! We are so full of awesomeness and together-time this weekend! … And I can’t wait because we are seeing The Martian. I am not usually one to have the quick instinct that “I have to see that!” But with this one? The first time I saw the movie trailer, that was the thought I had. I’m so excited, and am perhaps looking forward equally towards the movie itself, as well as the popcorn and/or candy that will accompany said movie. Hee. Yum and Yay!

Okay, and? Now for the last good thing on my current list (there are so many today – so cool)… I was kind of losing track of my sober days, what with all that has been going on at work, and then on Thursday, I realized I was pretty close to 150/5 months. I checked in on line for a minute, and tuh-dah! Sober Day 150 was on Friday. Huge achievement! And my official 5-month happens tomorrow. So great! Now I am just 30 days away from my 180-day challenge finish, as well as edging up on that Winter Solstice/Solstice-to-Solstice Challenge. As I like to say, Woot-to-the-Oot, People!

So, here I was basking in the goodness of sobriety and achievement and not really feeling the worse for wear (as opposed to the time around the 100-marker), and was thinking I might splurge on a little Aveda perfume, because it’s waaaaaaaay cheaper than the perfumes I am in love with. Giorgio-Armani-SiI mentioned it to the hubs yesterday, and do you know? That man came home in the afternoon with a 5- and 6-month combo celebratory present for me. Gah. So sweet. And so deliciously amazing! As you can see here, it was a hunormous bottle of Armani’s Si perfume, plus a little gift set for buying the biggest bottle (Score!). So now, I am about to get ready for the date mentioned above, and then wear my new, yummy, wonderful perfume. Plus? Cate Blanchett is the spokesperson! I didn’t even know that until I looked up images this morning, and now I am more in love with my perfume than ever. Way to go manipulative advertising machine. You got me!

And with that? I must run. Time to get ready for my date! Ooooooh! We might even kiss! Gross.

Okay, love you. G’bye!

Day 152, Oh, look at that – the Pink Cloud has returned with a sky FULL of identical friends.

 

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Si, Si, Senora!

  1. I love this post! Great to read something so cheerful and upbeat..just what I needed. This is ‘what good looks like’ for a sober life.
    I just pasted an entire lamb tagine recipe in this comment box somehow….then had to spend about 5 mins with my finger on delete. My brain is fried…
    Hope you enjoy the film… saw it a couple of weeks ago, I thought it was brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Party on Garth! Loved The Martian. Bridge of Spies was awesome yesterday. Lining up some Neil Gaiman for my next read!! Thanks. Please don’t tell us about the kissing part. Gross!! 🙂 Lori

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this entire post!
    You rock!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Heehee. …. And I loved the movie. So glad we got to see it today.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you! I’m glad it connected for you.* … And I loved the movie. Hope you’re feeling better soon! -HM.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Untipsyteacher on said:

    I love this, too!
    Happy you had such a great weekend!
    And all happily sober!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Amazing up beat and a joy to read xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Robert Crisp on said:

    Ha, I just finished The Ocean at the End of the Lane and loved it. Now I’m reading The World Made Straight (causing me a bit of reading whiplash). I’ll have to wait to see The Martian when it comes out on DVD. Sounds like you’re doing great. Hope it continues next week!

    Like

  9. Thank you, Wendy! It has been a good week/weekend. Yay.* -HM.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I hope you loved the Martian, I loved reading the book and watching the movie both. I loved hearing about all of your good stuff. Sometimes we need a stretch of that!

    Like

  11. I really did need a stretch of the food. Thank you. It seems I’m getting ready to dive into some more turbulent waters, so yes. Now I have some good vibes to carry forward with me. … As for the movie, I really liked it! I knew it was going to be larger than life, and it was. Win. *smile* -HM.

    Like

  12. Congratulations! Really great to hear that you are doing so well. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

