Heya, Monster.

A SoberBlog by a TallWoman.

One Wild & Crazy Gal.

It’s Friday night and I’m feelin’ alright.

imgres 2

Had a pretty good night with the babes. Found myself saying ‘yes’ to most of the activities they proposed: Play-dough; Dance party; Inside Out; Tubbie; Books; etc. It has been a nice night overall.

And now? I’m here.

Blogging.

Because that’s how I roll…

images-1

In other news this week, I’ve been trying to figure out this whole ‘twitting’ thing (I jest). First, I keep laughing at myself because I realize I’m a good 10 years late to the party, but hey. Better late than never. As I explore, I’m getting a bit more adventurous and looking further into people’s profiles – specifically sober people’s profiles and feeds. It’s interesting and humbling when I actually figure out how to do it. *smile*

My current favorite intrigue on Twitter is The Rooms Project @throomsproject Have any of you looked into this or heard of this project before? Their main Twitter page alone is just awe-inspiring. I want to dive into every story and learn more and more!

I’m finding authors and other bloggers and writers from all over the place in the TweetWorld, which is so cool to think we’re SO close to one another with just a few quick keystrokes. (And yes, I know you and I are only a few bytes away from one another, but us bloggers, we’re invested in one another. We are here for the long haul, my dear brothers and sisters. We read far more than the standard 140-character tweets. We are the 5-course meal to the Twits’ 2 carrot sticks and a diet Coke.)

Oh, whoops. I just lost all of my Twitty followers by that droll comparison… But anyway!

Granted, my teenaged students discovered this interconnected, technological wonder-world when they were 8 years old (at the oldest – I’m being kind to myself), but seriously. How cool. I tweeted Sarah Hepola awhile ago (Blackout: Remembering the Things I Drank to Forget) and was almost instantly responded to. I have a good friend who tweets authors regularly. I’m going to have to start doing that. Asap. (I just pronounced that ‘a sap’ in my head instead of the usual ‘AaaaaSap’, and it made me giggle (And I’m not even drinking, people! (It really is Friday night, isn’t it?)))

Right. Well, along with discovering other cool people and organizations, I’m trying to figure out what exactly to twit. I know for certain it is connected and about my sobriety and recovery, but I’m trying to figure out what exactly to say, so I’m experimenting. Testing the electronic waters, if you will.

So, yesterday, while on Twitter, I had the thought – How many days did I waste drinking? Here’s what I found once I did all the math….

Heya, Monster@heyamonster
Est. 5 hours/day/week = 1820 hours/year x 15 years = 27300 hours = 1137.5 days Wow.

?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!???

Do you see what I see? One-thousand, one-hundred and thirty-seven point five mother fucking days!!! And that is a low-ball estimate. I didn’t include the all-day drinks, the all-day hangovers, the all-night parties, nor the binges that sometimes started at noon.

GAH.

Over three YEARS of my life have been lived drinking, tipsy, drunk, blacked out, and/or ridiculously uninhibited (to the point on many occasions, I wish I had had some inhibitions). That’s a lot of Time.

Thank goodness I figured it out when I did. Like right now? I have 4.7 months back. 4.7 months that have been completely mine – the good, the bad, the ugly, the stunning, the frustrating, the inspiring, etc., and all of them, every moment has been mine! Clear and present to what the world gives me.

Day 143, Ordinary Reality is Extraordinary.*

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “One Wild & Crazy Gal.

  1. Robert Crisp on said:

    I never would have thought about Twitter as a good place to connect and get support, but Abbiegrrl recommended it. s you say, it’s not like being involved in the sober blogosphere, but it works in a pinch.

    Like

  2. Robert Crisp on said:

    *As you say

    Like

  3. Untipsyteacher on said:

    I thought about Twitter, but I just don’t know if I can handle more media time in my life.
    However, it would make me feel good to figure it out, too!!
    Glad to here how well you are doing!!
    xo
    Wendy

    Like

Leave a Reply

