Heya, Monster.

A SoberBlog by a TallWoman.

Premature Celebration.

No one panic. This post will not dive down into the ‘blue.’ Swearsies.

I am still on vacation, and I am still a bit frazzled and craving release. This am I actually started to cry because my children were crazy beast-animals. I had a few hours of respite while we visited a family friend and they played outside for two hours, however the tension and anxiety in my shoulders hasn’t really left me at all.

So? I did a not-awesome-(but-secretly-I’m-excited-and-think-it’s-awesome)-thing.

The ‘thing’ is a $300 purchase of a Tiffany necklace I have coveted and eyed for yeeeeears. I am so happy, but feeling so guilty. So? Similar to my early 30-day splurge, I am calling this my early 100-day splurge. Guilt (mostly) resolved. *smile*

Here’s a pic:

Ooh-la-la!

Ooh-la-la!

I have to go on record and say I am very, Very good at figuring out rewards. … If any of you need help brainstorming, then just give a holler. hee. I’m happy to help!

Alright, off I go. This post is less than a tenth of yesterday’s post in grateful thanks for your awesomeness and beautiful support yesterday. I am so lucky to have so many cool people in my life via this rad thing called the interwubs.

Day 63, and happily committed to the 100-day challenge (as well as Sobriety-for-Life) Now more than ever. Ha!

p.s. Still feeling itchy on vacation. I won’t lie. The necklace helps, but still have the itch. Going to try some exercise and see if that helps. (It usually does, doesn’t it?)

 

Single Post Navigation

19 thoughts on “Premature Celebration.

  1. Kids will drive you to tears whether drunk or sober. Might as well be sober & crying. I’m sure you have easily saved $300 in the last 63 days by not drinking. I think you should enjoy the necklace now & get another thing at 100 days :). Lol like new shoes! (Which I never did get for myself by the way.) Lori

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s beautiful. My 100-day reward was colored pencils and a coloring book.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Untipsyteacher on said:

    Exercise really does help, especially outside.
    I just committed to some big bucks on skin stuff, so I will look like I am a teenager, when I get to my year!
    LOL
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I find shopping therapy very satisfying as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the necklace! Well deserved, you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Robert Crisp on said:

    Kids+ vacation + any parent, regardless of alcohol dependency = stress. Mucho stree El stress eh (I can’t put the little accent mark over the e). Good for you buying the necklace! Rewards are extremely important.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Robert Crisp on said:

    Apparently, I can’t type this morning. What the hell is “mucho stree”?!?! Put it together with the other thing and it’s downright bizarre…and therefore apt. I will henceforth refer to uncomfortable situations in life as Mucho stree El stress eh. Loudly. In public.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. riding on empty on said:

    Don’t you just love “family travel?” I made a relatively expensive treat purchase at about the same amount of time last fall, but I had kept a sobriety tracker that told me every day how much I’d saved from just not buying booze. At the end of 100 days, I want to say I was at almost $1000. Of course, I spent that and more, but it’s the principle of the matter. Try to enjoy the rest of your time with hubs and the babes.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Glad to hear I’m not alone, Lori. p.s. Get on the shoe-train, woman!

    Like

  10. I remember when you got those! Well, I think I read about them well after the fact, but I remember reading about them. I thought they sounded like such great ideas, too! Have you finished any of the designs? You should post one or two.

    Like

  11. Haha. I think you already look like a teen! Vivacious and glowy.

    Like

  12. Yeah…. I need to be careful. *smile* But I’m glad I’m not alone. So far, doing pretty well, I think. Just have to watch myself is all. Thanks, Anne!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Thank you, Ms. Jones! *smile* When are you back from Sweden?

    Like

  14. Yep. The first time I read your reply I wondered, but rolled with it. After reading this, I’m laughing. I will also refer to them as ‘mucho stree el stress eh.’ A fitting label. Good plan!

    Like

  15. Thanks! Yes, I have a rough estimate on my weekly savings – about $100. However, my rewards are a little ridick and might need some taming as the months go on. *smile* Isn’t crazy how much we used to spend and not even think about it?! p.s. Back home and in ‘my chair!’ So happy.

    Like

  16. Tonglennow on said:

    Today’s day 3 for me. This is probably the four hundredth day 3. Yup, been swept in this circle Jerk for way to long… I keep getting back up and trying again. As a former Minnesotan, your story touched me. I’ve recently discovered these soberlicious blogs!! They help, you help. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Oh, my goodness, I am so touched by your message. And hoo-rah for Minnesotans! *smile* Congratulations on Day 3, times 400. Seriously. So awesome that you’re back and trying again. p.s. I just wrote you a letter and didn’t even know it! Read this – https://heyamonster.wordpress.com/2015/08/14/dear-day-3-ers/ – it might help.* I’m cheering for you! -HM.

    Like

  18. Pingback: She’s Alive! | Heya, Monster.

Leave a Reply

